 |
|
Beware - New
Oracle Fraud site
Oracle Tips by Burleson Consulting |
As a publisher, I take
it personally when some scum steals my web pages and offers them
as their own. While imitation may be the sincerest form of
flattery, stealing-is-stealing, and this site is a great way to
find out if people have re-published your content on the web.
Here is my
review of the US copyright laws and their remedies. If
you must report a infringement to a web hosting company, they
may desire an
Official DMCA Copyright Infringement Removal Request, and my
notes on Defending against web
content theft.
These scum sites,
www.oraclesource.net and
www.examgurus.net been
stealing content from other major Oracle sites and cloaking it
to drive traffic to their alleged products, Oracle OCP study
guides. This set of web sites are eerily reminiscent of the
Oraknowledge Oracle web scan from 2004 where people were
bilked out of more than $30,000.
Also see
my notes on
defending
against web content theft.
Dr. Tim Hall noted the same fellow earlier this week,
stealing content from his web site, as well and his excellent
ISP complaint letter may have been responsible for the "oraclesource"
site going offline.
To see these crooks in-action, just
enter this query and see the results. When you click
on the result for Garmany, note that the result pages does not
match the displayed cached pages and you see an authoritative
looking page advertising Oracle study services.
However, when you click the "cached"
link, you see that these scum have copied my entire home page
for www.dba-oracle.com
and cloaked the results with a redirect to hide their content
theft.
Here is the whois information on this
content thief:
Administrative Contact:
Patel, Ankit oracleguru@hotmail.com
136 Elizabeth Ave Iselin, NJ 08830
United States
+1.212-844-7079
It links to a related site
www.examguru.net, listed as owned by the same fellow, which
appears to also be offering unauthorized eBooks from major Oracle
publishers.
Patel, Ankit oracleguru@hotmail.com
ExamGuru.net
8425 Liberty Ave.
North Bergen, New Jersey 07047
United States
(201) 758-0789
Update: 1
August 2006 - I reported the violations to the web host and the main
set of pages at www.oraclesource.net
have disappeared. However, the "mother" site at
www.examguru.net is still alive
and well, offering questionable test study material and pirated
Oracle books.
Update: 3 August
2006
The
thief changed to a private domain registrar (to prevent whois
from revealing his name), and the crook is back, hosted by .
However, they are still cloaking their pages, a serious offense
in Google, and a violation of the Federal Trade Commission
deceptive practices guidelines. Here is the proof:
Internet Copyright infringement with page cloaking